Why I Love To Run

Sometimes I wonder, why do I like running so much?  After all, there’s something unique about running that holds a special place in my heart.  If you ask your friends how they like to spend their free time, you could probably guess what they are going to say.  They may tell you how much they like visiting new places, eating out, reading an interesting book,  going to the movies, or listening to their favorite music.   I enjoy doing all of the above.   I’ve also realized that all these activities have something else in common.  They don’t take a lot of effort.  Well, at least, I hope not.

Running, on the other hand, is different.  The interesting thing for me is that the more I run, the harder it gets.  Believe it or not, it’s not that difficult going out and running a 5K race.   Even though I would probably disagree with myself about a year ago,   I will say that it’s not impossible to run a half-marathon either.  If you’ve never done it before, it’s something to think about!   Sure, running a race isn’t exactly like going out for a picnic in the park.  Even after some training, chances are you could end up walking (or crawling) your first half-marathon. When all is said and done, you’ll probably make it to the finish line.  Your knees will hurt the next day or two.  Eventually, you’ll recover and think that some way, somehow, you did it.

This is exactly how I felt after completing my first race in February 2012 – the Statesman Capitol 10K in Austin, Texas.  Since then, I kept on running.  As it turned out, I got faster too.  However, this was no accident.  It took a lot of hard work and perseverance. Over the past year, I went from running a 5K race in 27 minutes to 22 minutes, a 10K race from 59 minutes to 46 minutes, and a half-marathon from 2 hours and 10 minutes to 1 hour and 38 minutes.   There is no doubt that improvement is a good thing.   It’s impossible to describe the magical feeling you get when achieving a personal record.  It’s almost like knowing you’ve done your best and have the evidence to prove it.    I would never have been able to improve if I didn’t try harder to run more often, get in shape, and push myself to run faster.

My biggest running achievement has been running 2-4 times a week.    It has not been an easy road for me to say the least.  I ran on nights where I had to stay up late to finish work that was due the next day.  I ran when it was 45 degrees outside(well, almost), or when it was pouring down rain.  I ran when I wanted to walk.   I even ran when I wanted to quit and didn’t want to run anymore, but I still ran.  The main reason why I love running is the amazing sense of accomplishment I get from doing something hard and sticking to it.    The fact is I am still running today and giving it my all when I go out there.  That simple truth means a lot to me, and that is why I love to run.

Miles From Last Week
Tuesday:  3.1 miles
Thursday: 3.1 miles
Saturday: 4.5 miles
Total: 10.6 miles
Miles Ran in November: 59.4

Ideas For Future Posts
Tis the Season for Giving:  Running and Charity
Best Races to Run Around the World
Food for Fitness
How I Started Running
How I Really Do It: My Routine
Physics of Running
Nuts and Bolts:  Running Techniques
Eyes on the Prize: My Next Running Targets
Stretching Done Right
Running Injuries and How to Avoid Them
New Year’s Running Resolutions
Old School vs. New School Runners

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

