My New Year’s Resolutions

Every day is a new chance for us to improve ourselves, and there is no better time to start than the first day of the New Year.  Right around this time, you hear people talk about how they are going to change their lives.  Some common New Year’s resolutions include losing weight, getting involved in the local community, and quitting bad habits.  I’ve never made a single New Year’s Resolution before, and it’s not because I don’t have any weight to lose or bad habits to change.  While I had goals, I never took the time to write them down and actively pursue them.  I just didn’t want to commit myself to something without­ having the strength to see it through.   This past year, I lost 30 pounds through diet, exercise, and most importantly, running.   It wasn’t my resolution, but it naturally happened since the more I ran, the more I liked it, and the more weight I lost.  I finally discovered something that I’m really good at, and it feels great.

When I run, I’m better at everything else I do.  Every time I start having doubts, I remind myself of all those races I ran and how hard they were. That puts things into perspective and makes it seem like nothing is impossible.  That’s why I decided that now is the right time for me to make the following resolutions for the New Year:

1)      Pass Level I of the CFA Exam – Some of my happiest moments were  when  I challenged  myself and learned something new.  I wanted to take the CFA exam five years ago, but I kept putting it off for no good reason. Now, I took the plunge and registered for the June 7th exam.   In order to do this, I will prepare a study schedule, do at least 10 practice problems every day, and spend at least 12 hours every week studying for the exam.

2)      Daily Log – Every day, I will make a to do list of all the things I need to do.

3)      Write More – One of my favorite quotes from Benjamin Franklin is “Either write something worth doing or do something worth writing.”  My goal is to do just that.  My resolution is to write one post every week.

4)      Read More – Since I started reading other blogs and articles about running, I’ve learned so many interesting things.   I’ve learned about running intervals, breathing techniques, stretching, and all kinds of running gear I’ve never heard of.   I find it useful to read not only blogs of professionals runners, but also  beginners’ –  like myself.    My goal is to read at least two articles  every week.

5)      Run 1,000 Miles – I plan to do this by running 20 miles every week.

6)      Personal Records – My goal is to achieve personal records for the 5K in under 20 minutes, 10K in under 42 minutes, and half-marathon in under 1 hour and 32 minutes.

I hope after reading this post, you will make some positive New Year’s resolutions.  Happy New Year!

Miles From Last Week
Sunday:  6.2 miles
Monday: 1 mile
Tuesday: 6.2 miles
Thursday:  4.2 miles
Saturday:  6.4 miles
Total: 24 miles
Miles Ran in November: 59.4

Ideas For Future Posts
Best Races to Run Around the World
Training for the World’s Best 10K
Stretching Done Right
Gear up for Running!
Food for Fitness
How I Started Running
How I Really Do It: My Routine
Physics of Running
Nuts and Bolts:  Running Techniques
Running Injuries and How to Avoid Them
Old School vs. New School Runners

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

